News story

The Learning Awards 2021 Shortlisted Finalists Announcement

Learning NewsLPI (Learning and Performance Institute)

The finalists for the upcoming 2021 Learning Awards have now been announced.


On Tuesday the 20th October, The Learning and Performance Institute (LPI) announced their finalists for the 2021 Learning Awards, the learning sector’s annual celebration of outstand achievement, best practice and excellence in corporate learning and development.

Two new categories were added for the 2021 awards, The COVID Champion (Individual) Award, and The COVID Champion (Organisation/Internal Department) Award. The COVID Champion awards are special new categories presented to those that have shown great strength and a deep passion for helping others during the COVID-19 crisis. These awards have been created to honour and pay tribute to those who stood up to the mark in a time of trouble and made a real impact within the community in terms of support through the pandemic.

This year was particularly competitive in comparison to previous years. The LPI received a 42.9% increase in submissions from the 2020 awards, creating record year for Learning Awards entries.

In reference to the shortlisting announcement, LPI CEO Edmund Monk stated:

“I am delighted to see that the learning industry is continuing to demonstrate its resilience despite the hardships created by the COVID-19 situation.

This year, not only has the LPI seen an increase in the number of awards submissions, we’ve also seen a dramatic increase in the quality of submissions too.

This to me, is a testament to the outstanding achievements, innovative creations and remarkable performances occurring in our industry.

I’d like to offer my congratulations to all the finalists and wish you the best of luck at the judging sessions in November”

The shortlisted finalists are as follows:

Apprenticeship Programme of the Year

DAF Trucks Limited
The Romero Catholic Academy
TürkTraktör ve Ziraat Makineleri A..
Willis Towers Watson
Yorkshire Ambulance Services 

Covid Champion (Individual) Award

Alison Shea - State Street
Amira El-Dib - School of Continuing Education- The American University in Cairo (AUC)
Beenish Atif - AES school for girls
Clare Lang - Guy's and St Thomas Foundation NHS Trust
Dr Sonya Wallbank- Passe-Partout Consulting Ltd
Gary Wills - 
John Hinchliffe - 
Jam Pan
Judit Salamon - 
Leonard Cheshire
Marie Johnson – 
Sarah Ratcliff - 
Sarah Ratcliff Solutions
Suzi Archer - 

COVID Champion (Organisation/Internal Deparment) Award

Guy's and St Thomas Foundation NHS Trust
Independent Garage Association
Lidl GB
Reading Girls' School
Teacher Empowerment Programme

Digital Learning Transformation of the Year Award (Sponsored by Capita)

AIB Digital Excellence Programme
Fire Tech
Halcyon Knights
Home Office 
Macmillan Cancer Support 
Red Whale

External Learning Solution of the Year

ABSTRACT & 7IMDevelopment Beyond Learning (DBL)
Highfield e-learning LtdM&S and NaCTSO
Make Real Ltd
Schouten Global
SiyonaTech & Swiss Re 

Innovation in Learning Award

 & Fujitsu
Lloyds Banking Group
Phriendly Phishing
Swisscom (Schweiz) AG
The Engagement Coach


Internal Learning Solution

5App, Hemsley FraserGreystar
Elysium Healthcare
HERE Technologies
Liverpool Victoria Financial Services (LVFS)
Red Hat
Schroders Investment Management
University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

Learning Impact Award (Sponsored by Logical Operations)

ERM & Imparta 
Gonvarri Industries 
Highfield e-learning LtdM&S & NaCTSO 
Maudsley Learning 
MetLife & NIIT 
PNC Financial Services Group 
Video Interact

Learning Leader of the Year (Sponsored by Go1)

Andrew Johnson - Ideal Heating
Cathy Miller - NHS Blood and Transplant
Darren O’Neill  - Essential Site Skills Ltd 
Lou Tedrick - Degreed, Inc. 
Mike Blanchette – Veeam
Rhoda Whitton - Covetrus 
Ronald van der Molen  - Air Arabia
Sarah Gretczko - Mastercard

Learning Platform

Hive Learning & Babcock DST
Kallidus & David Lloyd
NatWest Group
Netex Learning

Learning Professional of the Year (Sponsored by Lidl)

Anson Mathews - Averda International
Ashirvad Lobo, FLPI, MCIPD, MBA - Air Arabia
Claire Hovey - Copy & TV
Dr Belinda Board - Peoplewise
Egle Vinauskaite - Skillbright Labs
Heather Duttweiler - Allianz
John Gregg - Which?
Tim Haarlemmer – Tim Haarlemmer

Learning Provider

Apprenticeships at Salford City College 
Media Zoo 
Sana Labs 
The Skills Network 
VIC - your Virtual Interactive Coach 

Learning Team of the Year (Sponsored by Docebo)

Banco Santander S.A
Nuffield Health
Shell Energy


Learning Technologies Award

Faculty of Skills
iRIS Health Solutions Limited
Simpleshow UK Ltd
SiyonaTech & Activate Learning
VIC - your Virtual Interactive Coach

Onboarding Programme

aNewSpring & HBtraining
Goldman Sachs
Govia Thameslink Railway
Lloyds Banking Group
Sberbank (Sber)
Sydney Water, D4C, Confluence Water and West Region Delivery Team
Veeam Software

The People Development Programme of the Year – Private Sector (Sponsored by TWM)

Hannover Re 
Santander UK 
Zensar Technologies

The People Development Programme of the Year – Pulic Sector

Accrington Academy
Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Luton Council
NHS Property Services
Nuffield Health
Roads and Transport Authority
Royal National Lifeboat Institution / Junction-18
St John Ambulance

Rising Star

Amy Synnott – Novartis
Ana Manso -
Bethany Hewitt - Zing 365
Christine Bednarz - KPMG US
Danielle Burton - Govia Thameslink Railway
Emma Forbes - Electra Learning Ltd
Samantha Hawkes - Napp Pharmaceuticals
Yasmine Alani - News UK

Start-Up Learning Provider of The Year (Sponsored by FutureLearn)

Artha Learning Inc
Empower Development
iAM Learning
MAAS Marketing
SUB 10 Ltd

Shortlisted entries will now be required to present their submissions to a panel of independent judges during the online judging sessions later in November.

The winner of the Colin Corder Award for significant and lasting contribution to learning will be announced at the ceremony.

The Learning Awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 18th February 2021 and will be an entirely online event for the first time in Learning Awards history.

Sponsorship opportunities are available to be booked through [email protected] or on +44 (0)2476 496 210.